Reviews// Killzone 3

Posted 3 Feb 2011 17:43 by
What is it that keeps us coming back for more? We chase down every last carefully released morsel of info about the next in a line of FPS sequels, slurping it down as though the gaming would die without it.

Feverishly we click through (or flick through), all sweaty under the collar in anticipation. Must. Have. Another. Instalment. Is it the game’s story? To find out what happens next in an epic plot line? Or the perennial improvement on an already near-perfectly balanced gameplay. Perhaps its simply that we want more of the same, with shiny new graphics and maps?

I wondered this as the Killzone 3 disk spun-up in the PS3, thankfully not demanding I wait an hour while it installs a bazillion gigabobs of data to the hard drive.

You see, during their gestation the former Killzone releases have been pitched as some sort of FPS Messiah for the PlayStation, whipping up the fan’s expectations to the point where no amount of time and technical excellent could deliver. But just what is it these fans anticipate in the wait for the next Killzone?

Its gameplay, while very accomplished, hasn’t really brought anything new to the table. The same can be said of the multiplayer. And the story line is, let’s be honest, pretty forgettable; a battle of homeworld versus colony. Surely it can’t just be the visuals? Can it?

What of Killzone 3? The gestation hasn’t been protracted, so the hype machine perhaps hasn’t has to the time to “get its whip on”. Or maybe, hopefully, the marketing people took a check of their senses, as the gentle trickle of info has been much more measured than in previous years. So with a clear head, let’s see if we can divine why we’re getting our collective knickers in a twist.

Shocking Move
Having battered the preview level a couple of times over with the PS Move, shocking myself in the process at how much I enjoyed the flappy gesture control for its accuracy and playability, I figured I’d go back to basics here and dust off the old Sixaxis - not that it’s exactly been gathering dust given the dearth of worthwhile Move titles.

It’d trotted through the intro level, which uses the “six months hence, now here’s what happened to set off these events” storytelling technique. I even managed to get through part of the next “real” level before I could resist no more, and switched to using Move.

Unfortunately I didn’t have a Nav controller, so had to use my Sixaxis. I really wouldn’t advise playing like this. The analogue stick on the Sixaxis is in completely the wrong place, with the D-pad taking pride of place where your thumb naturally settles.

What was truly unsettling, however, was that I felt like a complete spaz using the Move; I was overshooting hugely, the screen spinning wildly and generally making a tit of myself.

Were my gushings about Move being a wonderful FPS controller the utterings of someone who had “drunk the Koolaid”? A quick visit to the motion control preferences and a little practice to ease back into things put my self-doubt back in its box.
-1- 2 3   next >>

Comments

HeavY 3 Feb 2011 18:48
1/6
"Supporting Move is a brave choice, but aside from that and the support of 3D the game doesn't really bring anything the new to FPS gaming."

Call of Duty didn't bring anything new to the genre either yet you reviewers never complain about teh innovationzzz on CoD reviews.
pierre89 3 Feb 2011 22:20
2/6
no matter how a ps3 game is, no matter how it's graphics are the best ever seen, etc etc, xbox games will still score better. that's a fact.

it's impossible to an american website (don't know if spong is american) to give credit to a ps3 game, and give the score it deserves.

xbox games, even if they take 2 hours to finish, will always be "the best experience ever, bla bla bla".

everything that come from outside america, will be treated like s**t, and unfortunately, for us, gamers, maybe 70% or more big games related websites are from america, therefore they will always promote national s**t, even if its a big s**t, and sony, will always be treated like an enemy, as the result ps3 games will always score lower, if it's a multi platform, and if it's a BIG huge ps3 exclusive game, these websites will strive to spread the word that the game is crap, bla bla bla, short, bla bla bla, and so on, even if it has the best graphics, the best lightening effects, the best everything, it will always get a 6-7/10. no ps3 exclusive game should get a 9 or a 10, in america, so people buy national s**t. people buy xboxs, knowing they wll rrod sooner or later. and they get one rrod, they buy a second one. and a third one. just because its american, they will buy s**t. if the ps3 had the rrod return rate the xbox360 has, even obama would be talking about it, in the whitehouse.

castlevania, enslaved, gt5, lbp2 and others were Day one for me. Killzone 3, resistance 3, uncharted 3 and many others will be day one for me as well.

if there weren't all these hundresds of xbox fanboy websites killing every game on the ps3, with s**tty scores, sony would have sold at least 60 million ps3, at the moment. but with all the hate from the usa people, reviewers, gamers, and all the effort they put on giving bad scores to ps3 games, it's normal many people buy xbox, whose games are always perfect,


more comments below our sponsor's message
config 4 Feb 2011 12:00
3/6
SPOnG is a very British site. I'm offended you'd think otherwise. Hrrmph :)

Not sure I agree on the assertion that PS3 games will always score lower than 360's, or that everyone hearts CoD more even though it too isn't innovative. On SPOnG, Blops scored 92%. That 5% diff is more likely to be down to it playing better than it simply being CoD, or a that the reviewer played it on 360 (which I believe he did)

I've kicked the tyres of KZ3 and though it's definitely fun, but it's also just a but humdrum. That's prolly down to the rubbish story because I never found Half-life to be all that innovative from any other FPS - it was the story and the universe it was set in that made it utterly compelling. If you're gonna make a big deal out of a story within a game, you'd better make it a really good story. Otherwise, what's the point? Surely it's there to draw you in and make you want to play one ... more ... level, not to make you click "skip".

In the beta MP games I spent more time respawning and getting lost in the massively complex arenas than I did enjoying it, but I kinda put that down to it being a limited pool of very experienced FPSers making the matchmking a bit s**te.
PreciousRoi 5 Feb 2011 22:20
4/6
Between the name and his attitude toward America, this guy is either French...or an American...

As the Forum's Imperial American Jingo in Residence I feel compelled to respond.

Of course, Pierre's statements are utterly ridiculous. Does the Xbox 360 sell better in the US than everywhere else? Absolutely. Is this because the Xbox is "Made in America*"? To a lesser extent, Yes. To a greater extent, Yes, but once removed. But is this difference due to Xenophobic or Patriotic tendencies in American consumers and its games media? Absolutely, Unequivocally, Not.

The Xboxes may be designed and sold by an American company, but Microsoft managed the incredible feat of insinuating itself into the console marketplace dominated by Sony and Nintendo first on the strength of the original Xbox' hardware and superior capabilities, and by becoming identified with that most American of game genres, the First Person Shooter. So sure, the Xbox has been "the American console"...but that is, a "software issue", if you will. Halo, Ghost Recon, Rainbow 6, built-in Ethernet, and System Link, followed by LIVE! established its brand identity. Games like Splinter Cell, Forza Motorsports and Knights of the Old Republic proved that the original Xbox could deliver a Best of Breed experience outside of the First Person Shooter genre. It certainly had better graphics and lighting effects than the PS2. Is it so incredible that combining that success with an earlier street date than the PS3 would give the 360 a nice share of the market in the US? But the Wii and PS3 are still incredibly popular in America...in fact, I'd make the argument that there are more people in the US prejudiced against the 360 because it ISN'T "Japanese" than those prejudiced toward it because it is "American". As for people buying replacement consoles...I certainly remember plenty of people who went though 3 or more original PlayStations due to optical disk and other problems...but I guess since there wasn't a sexy name like RROD no one really remembers that...

You want somewhere the consumers are Xenophobic and Jingoistic, I think everyone in the world knows where you can find them, wakari-mas?...it certainly isn't America, we'll buy anything.

*Malaysia actually, I think.
sad sack 6 Feb 2011 03:57
5/6
@pierre89

so wii and nintendo DS games should get a low score? considering their actual games and how middle-market they are they seem to be overachieving.

if you want to be taken seriously, pierre, try changing to an american username like "chuck" or "deshawndre".

obviously the above is a pardoy of your own strange paranoid pov. wahh waahhh wahhh waaahhh
PurpleGekko 11 Feb 2011 13:37
6/6
"...or picking the perfect moment to quietly suggest a Hig and his trachea are best kept apart." <3
Posting of new comments is now locked for this page.